Comic Crush Saturday: August 22nd, 2020

Crushed on by Christy Jane, on August 22, 2020, in Comics/Graphic Novels, Reviews / 1 Comment

Comic Crush Saturday: August 22nd, 2020

Welcome to Comic Crush Saturday, our bi-weekly feature focused on the graphic elements of the book world. Comics became a huge part of my life a few years ago when I started reviewing them (and comic related TV shows) on Forever Young Adult. I’ve maintained a pulllist through my local comic shop, Isotope Comics, and even got Kelly to start one ;). You’ll find mini-reviews, what we’ve read recently, and more so check it out!

Featured Reviews of the Week


Comic Crush Saturday: August 22nd, 2020

Doodleville (Doodleville, #1)

by Chad Sell
Published by: Knopf Books for Young Readers
on June 9, 2020
Genres: Graphic Novel
Pages: 288
Bookshop
Goodreads

For fans of Svetlana Chmakova's Awkward and Raina Telgemeier's Smile comes an inventive new story from Cardboard Kingdom creator Chad Sell about a group of young artists who must work together when one of their own creations becomes a monster.

Drew is just a regular artist. But there's nothing ordinary about her art. Her doodles are mischievous . . . and rarely do they stay in Doodleville, the world she's created in her sketchbook. Instead, Drew's doodles prefer to explore the world outside. But after an inspiring class trip to the Art Institute of Chicago--where the doodles cause a bit too much trouble--Drew decides it's time to take her artistic talents to the next level. Enter the Leviathan--Levi, for short. He's bigger and better than anything Drew has ever created before. He's a monster, but a friendly one. That is, until Levi begins to wreak havoc on Drew's other doodles--and on the heroes her classmates have dreamt up.

Levi won't be easily tamed, and it seems there is a link between the monster's bad behavior and Drew's feelings. With the help of her loyal art club friends, will she be able to save Doodleville--and Levi--before it's too late?



Review

I’m a big fan of Cardboard Kingdom, which completely captured my heart. Chad Sell is back with Doodleville, the first in a new graphic novel series that has equally captured my heart and I can’t wait for the next one!

When Drew’s art grows as big as her bad feelings, she finds her clubmates shying away. Internalizing those feelings, her art becomes an uncontrollable beast, as alive as you and I.

So often we think of artists as struggling and alone. Doodleville seeks to change that narrative and show how a struggling artist surrounded by a support group can turn things around. This is a story of banding together in a time of disaster.

As the doodles physically jump off of Drew’s pages, the art metaphorically jumps off the pages through the use of linework and color. The pages are striking, using space fully without confines. This book is as alive as the characters within it – and it reflects the world we live in through a diverse cast of characters.

Doodleville is the graphic novel to give to every kid (and adult!) in your life this year. Don’t miss it!


What We Can’t Wait For

I’m totally cheating here because this is not a graphic novel BUT how can I resist a Dinah book??? Plus Alexandra Monir is writing it (you did read The Final Six, right?). I wasn’t sure we were getting more DC Icons books and I am SO EXCITED to see we are!

Comic Crush Saturday: August 22nd, 2020

Black Canary: Breaking Silence (DC Icons, #5)

by Alexandra Monir
Published by: Random House Books for Young Readers
on December 29, 2020
Genres: Graphic Novel
Pages: 384
Bookshop
Goodreads

THE HANDMAID’S TALE meets the DC universe in this breathtaking, thrilling origin story of Black Canary. Her voice is her weapon, and in a near future world where women have no rights, she won’t hesitate to use everything she has to fight back.

Dinah Lance was seven years old when she overheard the impossible: the sound of a girl singing. It was something she was never meant to hear—not in her lifetime, and not in Gotham City, taken over by the Court of Owls. The sinister organization rules Gotham as a patriarchal dictatorship, all the while spreading their influence like a virus across the globe.

Now seventeen, Dinah can’t forget that haunting sound, and she’s beginning to discover that her own voice is just as powerful. But singing is forbidden—a one-way stop to a certain death sentence. Can she balance her father’s desire to keep her safe, a blossoming romance with mysterious new student Oliver Queen, and her own desire to help other women and girls rise up and finally be heard? And will her voice be powerful enough to destroy the Court of Owls once and for all?


Best News of the Week


Let’s make this reality. PLS


This is SO WELL DESERVED.


So this is the best news.


This is the best outcome and I can’t wait to watch season 2.


Living for all the book to graphic novel adaptations. Let’s bring more readers to these stories!


LOVE this.


YES


What an amazing opportunity to bring comics to youth!


This is the news we needed!


Stranger Things on HALLOWEEN?!

Tags: , , , ,


One response to “Comic Crush Saturday: August 22nd, 2020

  1. Mindy M

    Doodleville looks cute. My graphic novel game is at a standstill at the moment. I have such a backlog that it a little overwhelming. But a goal is too conquer it by the end of the year.