Comic Crush Saturday: March 7th, 2020

Crushed on by Christy Jane, on March 7, 2020, in Comics/Graphic Novels, Reviews / 0 Comments

Comic Crush Saturday: March 7th, 2020

Welcome to Comic Crush Saturday, our bi-weekly feature focused on the graphic elements of the book world. Comics became a huge part of my life a few years ago when I started reviewing them (and comic related TV shows) on Forever Young Adult. I’ve maintained a pull list through my local comic shop, Isotope Comics, and even got Kelly to start one ;). You’ll find mini-reviews, what we’ve read recently, and more so check it out!

Featured Reviews of the Week


Comic Crush Saturday: March 7th, 2020

The Plain Janes

by Cecil Castellucci, Jim Rugg
on January 7, 2020
Pages: 496
IndieBound
Goodreads

Meet the Plain Janes--teenage artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town in this graphic novel bind up, perfect for fans of This One Summer and Awkward.

After getting caught in the midst of a terrorist attack on Metro City, artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved bustling metropolis for the boring suburb of Kent Waters. At first Jane thinks her life is over, but then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things--a shared name and an all-too-relatable frustration with the adults around them--the girls form a secret club dedicated to waking up their fellow citizens with guerrilla works of art scattered around town.

But for Main Jane, the group is more than just a simple act of teenaged rebellion, it's an act of survival. She's determined not to let fear rule her life like it does her parents' and neighbors'. Armed with her sketchbook and a mission of resistance, she's out to prove that true passion and a group of good friends can save anyone from the hell that is high school.

Includes the original two installments of the cult classic graphic novel The Plain Janes--The Plain Janes and Janes in Love--plus a never-before-seen third story, Janes Attack Back. And it gets even better: In the final book, each part will be printed in its own distinct color, because there's nothing plain about these Janes.



Cecil is an auto-buy around these parts so to receive an early copy of the recently updated Plain Janes was such a treat! I was so engrossed I couldn’t put it down on a plane ride.

After tragedy strikes, Jane moves to a new community and turns to art as a way to bring herself back to stability and process her feelings. To do this, she recruits a few other Janes and they start a rebellion.

What I love most is the sensitive way that Cecil manages the emotions that Jane goes through as she is faced with situations that trigger her. I also like how the story shows natural transition high school friend groups go through.

Overall this is a kick-ass story about art, friendship, healing, and community. Highly recommend!


What We Can’t Wait For

In his latest graphic novel, Dragon HoopsNew York Times bestselling author Gene Luen Yang turns the spotlight on his life, his family, and the high school where he teaches.

Gene understands stories—comic book stories, in particular. Big action. Bigger thrills. And the hero always wins.

But Gene doesn’t get sports. As a kid, his friends called him “Stick” and every basketball game he played ended in pain. He lost interest in basketball long ago, but at the high school where he now teaches, it’s all anyone can talk about. The men’s varsity team, the Dragons, is having a phenomenal season that’s been decades in the making. Each victory brings them closer to their ultimate goal: the California State Championships.

Once Gene gets to know these young all-stars, he realizes that their story is just as thrilling as anything he’s seen on a comic book page. He knows he has to follow this epic to its end. What he doesn’t know yet is that this season is not only going to change the Dragons’s lives, but his own life as well.

If you’ve been sleeping on Gene Luen Yang, let this be your intro to his amazing work. A deeply personal project based around people he knew and the youth he worked with, Dragon Hoops is sure to be a favorite this spring.

Pick it up here.

Best News of the Week

More of this. Period.

My only question is CAN I HAVE IT NOW!?

Some covers are gorgeous and then there’s this AMAZING cover. Oh.My.Gosh.

More cute cover reveals!

View this post on Instagram

We are over the moon to announce the cover of @mikasongdraws upcoming graphic novel “Donut Feed the Squirrels” available to pre-order today! (link in bio) . We collaborated on a fun incentive!!! Pre-order this book and email us proof of purchase and we’ll send you a limited edition Reading Ninja X Mika Song bookplate goodie bag! . Norma and Belly are the best of friends — and the best of squirrels, if you ask them. But they have finally met their match . . . a donut food truck! A fun “donut caper” graphic novel that focuses on madcap action, problem-solving, and the power of working together. . Mika Song’s work is one to pay attention to, whether she authored and illustrated or brought others stories to life with her artwork. The books she touches are amazing and I am sooo excited to read this graphic novel! . Suggested for ages 5-8, it will be a great back to school book to continue the reading train going strong! . #TheReadingNinja #ReadingisRAD #MikaSong @RandomHouseKids @RHKidsGraphic

A post shared by The Reading Ninja (@thereadingninja) on

You may know them from Frozen…Which is why having them on The Prince and the Dressmaker is AMAZING.

I am the opposite of ready

If you’ve been waiting for post-TROS content, here it is.

Tags: , , , , ,