Audiobook Review & Event Recap: A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

Crushed on by Jana Morimoto, on December 4, 2019, in Events, New Releases, Reviews / 0 Comments

Audiobook Review & Event Recap: A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

In January 2019, we met Shannon Price, upcoming local debut author. It’s something else to realize her book is FINALLY here, so many months later! Set in San Francisco, A Thousand Fires is The Iliad meets The Outsiders – gangs, romance, and characters you won’t soon forget. Check out an event recap from Shannon’s launch and a review of the audiobook of A Thousand Fires!

Thank you, Tor Teen & Macmillan Audio, for the review copy which in no way influences my thoughts below.


Audiobook Review & Event Recap: A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

A Thousand Fires

by Shannon Price
Narrator: Frankie Corzo
Published by: Tor Teen
on November 5, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 304
AmazonIndieBoundAudiobook through LibroFM
Goodreads

Shannon Price's A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut―think The Outsiders meets The Iliad―that's perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl’s Epic Quest…

Valerie Simons knows the city's gang wars are dangerous—her own brother was killed by the Boars two years ago. But nothing will sway her from joining the elite and beautiful Herons to avenge his death—a death she feels responsible for.

But when Valerie is recruited by the mysterious Stags, their charismatic and volatile leader Jax promises to help her get revenge. Torn between old love and new loyalty, Valerie fights to stay alive as she races across the streets of San Francisco to finish the mission that got her into the gangs.

---

"Modern, unflinching and filled with haunting, lingering imagery, A Thousand Fires gives the story of the Iliad the bare-knuckled update it deserves." --Colleen Oakes, author of The Black Coats

"A Thousand Fires pulls you in close and shows you the essence of what it means to keep fighting. Shannon Price is one to watch." --Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds

"Brutal and beautiful, A THOUSAND FIRES broke my heart. A fast-paced tragedy of love, betrayal, and vengeance." --Heidi Heilig, author of FOR A MUSE OF FIRE

"Fast-paced... Vivid descriptions and intricate details bring San Francisco to life ... A promising debut." --Kirkus



New to Libro.FM?
Buy audiobooks & support your
local indie bookstore at the same time!
Click here to sign up & receive 3 audiobooks for the price of 1.


Event Recap

Check out our tweet recap from Shannon’s event. including the title reveal of her next book!


Review

Being a native Bay Area dweller, I enjoyed reading a book that was set locally to me. I felt that the book was written in a way that as a local, it was not annoying and overly descriptive, but would also make a non-native be able to picture where everything was in the city. 

The characters were engaging and definitely kept me wanting to know what was going to happen next. The way the dueling gangs were illustrated between the characters gave the book a real world, gritty feeling. Also, having a strong female lead who would do anything to make what happened to her family right in the end was very compelling to the story.

I enjoyed the book all the way through and loved some of the ‘oh my gosh’ plot twists that kept me needing more. I can not wait to read what’s next from Shannon Price!

I felt like the narrator for the audiobook for A Thousand Fires did a great job making it so I felt like it was my voice reading the book. This caused me to connect with the main character in a more personal way, so I was even more invested in what was going to happen next than I would normally be. Some books work really well for me in audio, and some I need to read on paper, but this was one that I could just get lost in the story and the narrator’s voice.


.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,