Author Interview: Glimpsed by G.F. Miller

Crushed on by Christy Jane, on January 27, 2021, in Author Interview, New Releases / 1 Comment

Author Interview: Glimpsed by G.F. Miller

We all have our core group of people who we rely on for book recs. For me, author Abigail Johnson is one of them! When she shared Glimpsed, I knew I had to read it. A teenage fairy godmother who can solve everyone’s problems but her own? Sign me up! We had a chance to check in with G.F. Miller as her debut launched into the world – check it out below and pick up Glimpsed, out now!


Author Interview: Glimpsed by G.F. Miller

Glimpsed

on January 5, 2021
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 374
Bookshop
Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett, this charming, sparkly rom-com follows a wish-granting teen forced to question if she’s really doing good—and if she has the power to make her own dreams come true.
Charity is a fairy godmother. She doesn’t wear a poofy dress or go around waving a wand, but she does make sure the deepest desires of the student population at Jack London High School come true. And she knows what they want even better than they do because she can glimpse their perfect futures.
But when Charity fulfills a glimpse that gets Vibha crowned homecoming queen, it ends in disaster. Suddenly, every wish Charity has ever granted is called into question. Has she really been helping people? Where do these glimpses come from, anyway? What if she’s not getting the whole picture?
Making this existential crisis way worse is Noah—the adorkable and (in Charity’s opinion) diabolical ex of one of her past clients—who blames her for sabotaging his prom plans and claims her interventions are doing more harm than good. He demands that she stop granting wishes and help him get his girl back. At first, Charity has no choice but to play along. But soon, Noah becomes an unexpected ally in getting to the bottom of the glimpses. Before long, Charity dares to call him her friend…and even starts to wish he were something more. But can the fairy godmother ever get the happily ever after?



Author Interview with G.F. Miller

Tell us about Charity and Noah. What 5 things do they always have with them? 

Noah is a theoretical physics man and a Trekkie to the core. So he doesn’t leave home without his Star Trek TOS communicator (TOS means The Original Series, for the uninitiated), TI-85 calculator, and a good quality mechanical pencil. He’ll also be wearing prescription glasses and a t-shirt with a Spock quote.

Even though she says she doesn’t do relationships, Charity’s power as a fairy godmother comes mostly from networking. Her actual magic is pretty underwhelming—nudging ideas into and out of people’s heads and glimpsing a moment of a person’s future. Granting wishes, therefore, requires a ton of hustle, persuasion, and calling in favors. So what she always needs with her is her phone with these five contacts:

  • Sean Slater, former client and current high school It Boy.
  • Scarlett Okumura, captain of the Pom Squad and social media heavy hitter.
  • Memom, her grandmother and fairy godmother mentor.
  • Hope, her sister, delivering wise counsel via vid chat from an elephant sanctuary in Thailand.
  • Vindhya Chandramouli, current client and soon-to-be Homecoming Queen (if everything goes to plan).

When you were a kid, what would you have wished for from a fairy godmother? What about now?

When I was in second grade, I wished and prayed for a really good friend. That summer, my wish was granted when a girl with long auburn hair moved in across the street. From that point on, I have honestly been surrounded with so many amazing friends. So, not to brag, but I might actually have a fairy godmother?! 

Now, I would wish for Marie Kondo to be my fairy godmother and help me experience the lifechanging magic of tidying up ☺ (p.s. My tween says she curses the day I read that book and wishes to never hear that name again.)

If you could see into the future, but only for one moment, what would you look for?

I’d look to see what shoes will be in style in ten years so that I can just buy one pair and stay on trend for a decade. I don’t love shopping, so this would be pretty magical.  



About G. F. Miller

G.F. Miller can write 80,000-word novels, but ask her to sit down and write 250 true and meaningful words about herself and she is likely to have an existential crisis. Who am I, really? She ponders. What do I want to be known for? Does anyone even read the back flap or visit author websites?

But eventually she will pull herself together and tell you that…She married her college sweetheart and is mom to three littles who routinely make her heart burst and her head explode (it’s a messy business, love). There are puppies big and small residing at her house (you’ll be seeing a lot of them if you follow her on Instagram). She’s been to a dozen countries, but not nearly as many as she would like. She loves learning all the things. She cries at all the wrong times. She makes faces at herself in the mirror. She believes in the Oxford comma. And she’s always here for a dance party.

While the stories she has brewing in her soul vary wildly from one another, there are three things they will always have in common: love, snappy dialogue, and happy endings.



Tags: , , , , , ,


One response to “Author Interview: Glimpsed by G.F. Miller

  1. Abigail Johnson (YA Author)

    Thanks for the shout out and I’m so glad you are helping to spread the word about GLIMPSED!