Blog Tour, Guest Post & Giveaway: Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack

Crushed on by Christy Jane, on November 8, 2018, in Blog Tour, Guest Post / 1 Comment

Blog Tour, Guest Post & Giveaway: Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack

Blog Tour, Guest Post & Giveaway: Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack

Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack was just released recently and we are excited to be a part of the blog tour! Gordon is local to us and has a great sense of humor. It totally works in his role as a school librarian AND in his funny books. Check out the very topical guest post from Gordon Jack and all the book information below! Don’t forget to enter the tour wide giveaway as well!

 

Blog Tour, Guest Post & Giveaway: Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack

Your Own Worst Enemy

by Gordon Jack
Published by: HarperTeen
on November 13, 2018
Genres: Young Adult, Humor, Contemporary
Pages: 448
AmazonIndieBoundB&N
Goodreads

Three candidates, three platforms, and a whirlwind of social media, gaffes, and protests makes for a ridiculous and hilarious political circus in Gordon Jack’s second highly satirical novel. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman.They say that with great power comes great responsibility. Unless you’re student body president at Lincoln High School. Then you get all the responsibility but none of the power. And the three candidates running for president know all about that.

Stacey Wynn is the front-runner, but she didn’t count on Julia Romero entering this race. Julia is challenging Stacey for the title while also putting the moves on Stacey’s campaign adviser and only friend, Brian. And then there is Tony Guo, the way outsider. Tony is usually oblivious to the school’s political campaigning, as he’s oblivious to anything that isn’t about getting high and drinking all the Space Cow chocolate milk he can stomach. But when his favorite beverage is banned at school, a freshman political “mastermind” convinces Tony to become the voice of the little guy. But what kind of voice is that, really?

If this were an ordinary high school election, the winner would be whichever candidate was the most popular. But this year, each candidate may have to sink to a new low to win an election that could change the course of...very little.

 

Guest Post – How to set up a political campaign?

Setting up a political campaign is easy. First thing you need to decide is if you’re in it to win it. If the answer is no, then stage campaign events where you talk about whatever’s bugging you at the time. You’ll either become a laughing stock or win the presidency of the United States of America.

If you decide you are in it to win it, then you need to figure out what’s bugging other people and focus your campaign around those issues, even if you couldn’t care less about those issues because you have money and power and privilege which shields you from the hardships most people face. You may need to take acting classes to lie more convincingly to people. In some cases, you may have to make friends with people who are more relatable to the voting public. These people should give you permission to share their stories of trauma and hardship at campaign rallies. Make sure to tell these stories with the fake tears you’ve learned to shed with the help of all those acting classes. Then find easy scapegoats to blame for the nation’s woes and find a way to sneak those goats into your opponent’s back yard.

 

About Gordon Jack

Gordon Jack always wanted to be a writer. In third grade, he put that on his “What I want to be when I grow up” list, just behind astronaut and professional dog walker. While working towards this goal, he had jobs as an advertising copywriter, English teacher, librarian, and semi-professional dog walker. The Boomerang Effect was his first novel. He lives in San Francisco with his family.

 

Giveaway

• 2 signed copies of YOUR OWN WORST ENEMY by Gordon Jack w/ book swag
• US Only
• Starts: 11/5 Ends: 11/27

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,


One response to “Blog Tour, Guest Post & Giveaway: Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack

  1. I think this sounds fun! Real life political stuff is so stressful right now (my state’s results were a dumpster fire), but a funny, lighter book set in high school sounds perfect. Thanks for hosting.