Blog Tour & Review: Eight Will Fall by Sarah Harian

Crushed on by Jana Morimoto, on November 27, 2019, in Blog Tour, New Releases, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour & Review: Eight Will Fall by Sarah Harian

Eight Will Fall by Sarah Harian released this week and we are thrilled to be a part of the blog tour. Eight Will Fall would be the perfect epic journey for fantasy lovers who love a Tolkien-esque style novel. This is not a journey for the faint of heart. Trigger warnings are on the authors website.

Many thanks to Macmillian and Henry Holt for the opportunity and the advance copy for review, which in no way influences our thoughts below.


Blog Tour & Review: Eight Will Fall by Sarah Harian

Eight Will Fall

by Sarah Harian
Published by: Henry Holt & Co. (BYR)
on November 26, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Horror, Fantasy
Pages: 368
AmazonIndieBound
Goodreads

Pitched as Six of Crows meets Suicide Squad, this dark YA fantasy follows eight criminals as they battle their way through a subterranean realm of horrors and certain death.

In a world where magic is illegal, eight criminals led by rebellious Larkin are sent on a mission to rid their realm of an ancient evil lurking beneath the surface. Descending into a world full of unspeakable horrors, Larkin and her crew must use their forbidden magic to survive.

As they fight in the shadows, Larkin finds a light in Amias, a fellow outlaw with a notorious past. Soon, Larkin and Amias realize that their destinies are intertwined. The eight of them were chosen for a reason.

But as the beasts grow in number and her band is picked off one by one, Larkin is forced to confront a terrible truth: They were never meant to return.

Lovers of dark, high-octane adventure will be enthralled by this genre-bending YA fantasy standalone, perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Leigh Bardugo.



Review

Instead of a novel that’s all about the beginning and the end, this story is all about the eight people who are thrown together and must fight with each other to stay alive. If you think the kingdom Larkin lives in is corrupt and messed up at the beginning of the story, be prepared for a journey through her world that gets darker and darker.

I enjoyed all the different types of magic that the characters had and finding out the mystery behind why each of them had such unique magical traits. Of course in this genre of books, ones that emphasize family love as the driving force, and this one also has romantic love, but a unique addition is that there is also a creepiness factor tied into this theme.

In this journey to save not only their kingdom, their families, and themselves, the characters are put through different trials, battles, and encounter horrific characters. Which reminded me of the types of battles and horrible characters that Frodo and crew encountered in the Lord of the Rings series. 

Readers who like a unique plot that pushes the boundaries and adds the heart pounding anticipation, like The Hunger Games and The Grace Year, with a strong female lead, then you will enjoy this novel. 

The audiobook is great and I thought the narrator’s (Lauren Fortgang) voice translated as Larkin very well. She kept the pacing and other characters vocalization consistent. I had no complaints on how she portrayed the male characters like I do with some audiobooks. I would recommend the audio to anyone wanting to read Eight Will Fall.


About Sarah Harian

Sarah grew up in the foothills of Yosemite. She received her B.A. in English Education and M.F.A. in Creative Writing at Fresno State University. She currently lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband and her dog and will likely (hopefully) be a West Coaster for life. She also has a fondness for hiking, open world RPGs, adventure novels, and sharing a wonderful meal with equally wonderful people.

Sarah is the author of the Chaos Theory series published by Penguin/NAL and Eight Will Fall published by Macmillan/Henry Holt. She is represented by Kathleen Rushall of Andrea Brown Literary Agency.




Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,


Comment Love Appreciated!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.