Book Rewind Co-Review: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

Crushed on by Christy Jane, on April 16, 2020, in Book Rewind, Reviews / 1 Comment

Book Rewind Co-Review: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

Jessica Brody is a favorite around here. She writes across genres and age groups and is a master at playing with your emotions. We have yet to meet a Jessica Brody book that we haven’t fallen madly in love with and The Geography of Lost Things is no exception! Jana and I recently co-read The Geography of Lost Things and then took it on a road trip (the weekend before shelter-in-place!) so we are here to tell you how and why we loved it!


Book Rewind Co-Review: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

The Geography of Lost Things

by Jessica Brody
Published by: Simon Pulse
on October 2, 2018
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 458
IndieBound
Goodreads

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.
After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does?
Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans.
He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected.
And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.



Co-Review

Wow, what a stunning book! What five words would you use to describe what you felt while reading?

Christy: Feels. Journey. Growth. Loss. Adventure.

Jana: Anxiety. Development. Feels. Love. Inspiration.

Let’s talk about characters. What side characters stand out and what did you love about the main characters?

C: The thing about this book is that somehow Jessica has created tangible characters in even the most minor character. I can picture them all SO VIVIDLY. Jackson, who is Ali’s father, plays an active role in the story. But there are also these characters you meet along the way that stand out. What’s going on with the hair tie lady? How about the couple we meet? Where’s that band at today? If I could write, I would write fanfic about the other people we meet in this story!

J: On Ali’s journey, she not only makes a collection of things, but also people and their stories. Those stories, more than the characters, are what drew me in. I want to know more about their stories and how their interaction with Ali affected their lives. Was a date just a date or the start of something new? Was a surface pro just a means to an end or the start of a documented journey that would lead to blogging? I love how their stories helped the main characters bring out their own history and future.

What was your favorite part in The Geography of Lost Things?

C: GAH. I love all of the angst between Ali and Nico. The whole time, I was texting Jana like, OMG WHAT IS HIS SECRET AND HOW BAD WAS IT! She finished before me and I was so tempted to ask what was going on because I really loved him and didn’t want him to be bad. This story reminded me of how I felt reading Letters to the Lost and Say You’ll Remember Me (yes, I have a type).

J: Oh, easy Ali and Nico. It was killing me the whole ride, I just wanted them to talk and be real with each other. I’m the kind of reader who sits through the book going “kiss…kiss…kiss”.

If Jessica were to write a future Geography story, what would you want to see?

C: Obv I want to see what’s up with Ali and Nico but I also want to know what’s up with Ali and her mom!

J: Oh defiantly more of Ali and Nico’s romance, but also maybe a collection of stories about the people Ali and Nico met, like the stories of all the lost things/people.

Tags: , , , , , , ,


One response to “Book Rewind Co-Review: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody