Book Rewind Review: Scream All Night by Derek Milman

Crushed on by Christy Jane, on February 14, 2019, in Book Rewind, Reviews / 1 Comment

Book Rewind Review: Scream All Night by Derek Milman

Scream All Night is a quirky and quotable contemporary tale juxtaposed over a b-movie production company. The first chapter of this book sets the tone for the journeys of the cast, crew, and one young man who is figuring out who and what he is. All of this is how it landed on my best of 2018 (and FOREVER) list. If you missed this one in 2018, now is the time to pick it up!


Book Rewind Review: Scream All Night by Derek Milman

Scream All Night

by Derek Milman
Published by: Balzer + Bray
on July 24, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Amazon
Goodreads

A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing up and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Running With Scissors.

Dario Heyward knows one thing: He’s never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. It’s been three years since Dario’s even seen the place, after getting legally emancipated from his father, the infamous director of Moldavia’s creature features.

But then Dario’s brother invites him home to a mysterious ceremony involving his father and a tribute to his first film—The Curse of the Mummy’s Tongue. Dario swears his homecoming will be a one-time visit. A way for him to get closure on his past—and reunite with Hayley, his first love and costar of Zombie Children of the Harvest Sun, a production fraught with real-life tragedy—and say good-bye for good. But the unthinkable happens—Dario gets sucked back into the twisted world of Moldavia and the horrors, both real and imagined, he’s left there.

With only months to rescue the sinking studio and everyone who has built their lives there, Dario must confront the demons of his past—and the uncertainties of his future. But can he escape the place that’s haunted him his whole life?



Review:

Scream All Night is a quirky and quotable contemporary tale juxtaposed over a b-movie production company. The first chapter of this book sets the tone for the journeys of the cast, crew, and one young man who is figuring out who and what he is. All of this is how it landed on my best of 2018 (and FOREVER) list.

I’m definitely a character-driven reader, making Scream All Night a treat for me. Dario is so tangible and you can feel his emotions coming off the page. He’s got stuff to contend with, and we are on the journey to him facing his abusive father. As you can imagine, this story shines the light on many sad moments and yet there’s so much humor. Sometimes I was laughing, sometimes I was crying. He’s called home to attend his dad’s funeral, and by funeral I mean he’s going to be buried alive. Let that sit for a minute. 

The setting in this story functions as a character. As you can imagine, being on the set of a horror studio comes with its own set of intricacies. A castle for a home, a forced acting career, cast who Dario look at as family…Returning to this place is one horror story after another. 

As a person who went through emancipation, I related heavily to the emotions Dario experienced through the book. I can’t wait to see what Derek Milman brings to the literary world next!

Once you’re done with Scream All Night, preorder Derek’s next book, Swipe Right for Murder!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


One response to “Book Rewind Review: Scream All Night by Derek Milman