Review: She’s Too Pretty to Burn by Wendy Heard

Crushed on by Christy Jane, on July 9, 2021, in New Releases, Reviews / 1 Comment

Review: She’s Too Pretty to Burn by Wendy Heard

To say Wendy Heard has done it again is an underestimate. After writing two fire adult thrillers, she’s back with her debut YA. Is it too pun-ny to say it’s also fire? Damn, I loved it. She’s Too Pretty to Burn is out now so don’t miss out on the perfect summer read!


Review: She’s Too Pretty to Burn by Wendy Heard

She's Too Pretty to Burn

by Wendy Heard
Published by: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
on March 30, 2021
Genres: Contemporary, Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Bookshop
Goodreads

An electric romance set against a rebel art scene sparks lethal danger for two girls in this expertly plotted YA thriller. For fans of E. Lockhart, Lauren Oliver and Kara Thomas.

The summer is winding down in San Diego. Veronica is bored, caustically charismatic, and uninspired in her photography. Nico is insatiable, subversive, and obsessed with chaotic performance art. They’re artists first, best friends second. But that was before Mick. Delicate, lonely, magnetic Mick: the perfect subject, and Veronica’s dream girl. The days are long and hot―full of adventure―and soon they are falling in love. Falling so hard, they never imagine what comes next. One fire. Two murders. Three drowning bodies. One suspect . . . one stalker. This is a summer they won’t survive.

Inspired by The Picture of Dorian Gray, this sexy psychological thriller explores the intersections of love, art, danger, and power.



Review

She’s Too Pretty to Burn is an ode to art, love, friendship, and the impulsivity and recklessness that often comes with youth. It hit the Picture of Dorian Grey vibes right on the head. I dare you not to feel haunted when you finish.

Veronica is leading a perfectly normal life. Perfectly normal doesn’t exactly lead to inspiration in art, though. So why not liven it up with a sexy and dangerous relationship with a girl? Toss in a high-stakes catalyst like Nico and bam! Going down the morally grey tunnel never tasted so sweet.

And that ending? You won’t soon forget it.

Tags: , , , ,


One response to “Review: She’s Too Pretty to Burn by Wendy Heard