TV Thoughts: Get Even by Gretchen McNeil

Crushed on by Christy Jane, on September 5, 2020, in Reviews, TV Thoughts & Movie Musings / 0 Comments

TV Thoughts: Get Even by Gretchen McNeil

I’m always in the mood for some Gretchen McNeil – and her latest book-to-screen adaptation is exactly what I needed a few weeks back! Get Even is the perfect show to binge right now – check out my 5 reasons why below!


TV Thoughts: Get Even by Gretchen McNeil

Get Even TV Tie-in Edition

by Gretchen McNeil
Published by: Balzer + Bray
on July 7, 2020
Pages: 400
Bookshop
Goodreads

Soon to be streaming on Netflix and BBC iPlayer!

The Breakfast Club
meets Pretty Little Liars in Gretchen McNeil’s witty and suspenseful novel about four disparate girls who join forces to take revenge on high school bullies and create dangerous enemies for themselves in the process. Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Karen M. McManus, and Maureen Johnson.
Bree Deringer, Olivia Hayes, Kitty Wei, and Margot Mejia have nothing in common. At least that’s what they’d like the students and administrators of their elite private school to think.
The girls have different goals, different friends, and different lives, but they share one very big secret: They’re all members of Don’t Get Mad, a secret society that anonymously takes revenge on the school’s bullies, mean girls, and tyrannical teachers.
But when their latest target ends up dead with a blood-soaked “DGM” card in his hands, the girls realize that they’re not as anonymous as they thought—and that someone now wants revenge on them.
As the unlikely group searches for the killer, they also uncover secrets and lies that rock their tenuous friendship to the core. Soon the clues are piling up, the police are closing in . . . and everyone has something to lose.



5 Reasons to Binge Netflix’s Get Even

  1. Four girls from different cliques come together to take on injustices. In a world full of mean girl shows, Get Even dares to defy the tropes and gives audiences a new take.
  2. Twists on twists on twists. You think you have it figured out and then there’s more!
  3. An amazing cast. I can’t believe how PERFECT the actresses that play Kitty, Bree, Margot, and Olivia are. It’s like they were plucked from the pages.
  4. Short episodes that pack a punch. 30 minutes doesn’t seem like much time but there’s so much plot packed in while furthering the character development.
  5. When you’re finished, there’s a whole second book to hold you over. The Get Mad series is a duology so while we wait to hear the news on future seasons, you can grab the tie-in editions and stay immersed in the world.

Tags: , , , , ,


Comment Love Appreciated!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.