Audiobook Review + Event Recap: There Came a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool

Crushed on by Jana Morimoto, on October 9, 2019, in Events, New Releases, Reviews / 0 Comments

Audiobook Review + Event Recap: There Came a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool

There Came a Darkness is THE fantasy everyone is talking about this fantasy and I’m here today to share my thoughts on why everyone needs the audiobook on their TBR plus a little recap from her launch event. Check it out!


Audiobook Review + Event Recap: There Came a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool

There Will Come a Darkness (The Age of Darkness, #1)

by Katy Rose Pool
Narrator: Todd Boyce
Published by: Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
on September 3, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 496
AmazonIndieBoundAudiobook through LibroFM
Goodreads

The Age of Darkness approaches.Five lives stand in its way.Who will stop it... or unleash it?

For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations―until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared.

All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. As chaos takes hold, five souls are set on a collision course:

A prince exiled from his kingdom.A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand.A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart. A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone.And a dying girl on the verge of giving up.

One of them―or all of them―could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.



Review

I loved this book because:

  • Multiple Perspectives – This may be a weird thing to start with saying, but it’s true! I loved how Katy Rose Pool wrote many perspectives but in a unique way. Rather than systematic alternating perspective, she alternated between the different characters as it helped the story along. The characters that had more growth needed had more chapters. When the characters diverted away from one another or when they needed to have a voice, Katy Rose Pool wrote chapters from their POV. 
  • Morally Grey Characters – I loved how Katy’s characters were allowed to be flawed.  They were allowed to grow and see that what they are doing may not be as “correct” as they thought – or not grow and have to justify their reasons.
  • This book is huge!
  • This is a new darker world that was very character driven.
  • If you liked Six of Crows, you will love this book.

Grab the audiobook here.

New to Libro.FM?
Buy audiobooks & support your
local indie bookstore at the same time!
Click here to sign up & receive 3 audiobooks for the price of 1.

Event Recap

I also attended Katy Rose Pool’s launch party at Kepler’s. It was a lot of fun with card reading, mochi cupcakes, and some wine! Katy had a whole gaggle of coworkers and friends for the Q and A portion of the talk, which got a bit loud and humorous. Tara Sim (author of the Time Keeper series and the highly anticipated upcoming Scavenge the Stars novel) was the perfect moderator for Katy and I seriously cannot wait for her next book. Take a look at the photos from the launch below.




.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Comment Love Appreciated!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.