Blog Tour & Review: Wardens of Eternity by Courtney Moulton

Crushed on by Jana Morimoto, on January 22, 2020, in Blog Tour, New Releases, Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour & Review: Wardens of Eternity by Courtney Moulton

This was a fun historical fiction novel based in the period prior to WW2 but in a slightly alternate reality. If Shadow Hunters and Rick Riordan’s style of blending together historical fiction and mythology if your thing – this is the book for you.

Thank you to Harper Collins books and TLC book tours for for sending me this copy to read and review as well as including me in the blog tour. I really enjoyed Wardens of Eternity!


Blog Tour & Review: Wardens of Eternity by Courtney Moulton

Wardens of Eternity

by Courtney Allison Moulton
Published by: Blink
on January 21, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 368
IndieBoundAudiobook through LibroFMBarnes & Noble
Goodreads

Ziva Ellison has one memory of her parents, made the day they abandoned her on the streets of New York City when she was three years old. They left her with only a memory and a promise that she had a great and terrible destiny.
Fifteen years later, Ziva discovers that destiny includes powers that she doesn’t understand and can barely control. Her magic attracts vicious, otherworldly monsters, and eventually compatriots to help her fight them. Sayer and Nasira know the secrets Ziva doesn’t; that Ziva is descended from Egyptian royalty and in possession of ancient magic passed down from the time of the gods. They promise to teach Ziva to control her magic and to give her the family she’s always yearned for.
But trouble is brewing in the world around them; darkness is descending on Hitler’s Germany, threatening World War II. As the last heir of a revered Egyptian queen, Ziva is the only one with the power to prevent another costly global conflict. As Ziva navigates her newfound abilities and makes a connection with Anubis and other Egyptian gods, the Nazis are hunting for the ultimate weapon, and Ziva has caught their interest.
From Courtney Allison Moulton, author of the acclaimed Angelfire series, comes Wardens of Eternity, an action-packed page-turner that blends history, mythology, and magic, perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Kiersten White.


Review

When I read that this book had a female protagonist and the mythology was Egyptian (rather the commonly seen Greek or Roman), I knew I had to read it!

I got swept up in the style of writing and I enjoyed the group Ziva collects along the way as she learns about who she is and her heritage. I definitely shipped Sayer and Ziva so much! I loved that she had this inherent magic she needed to learn to use, a very chosen one-lost princess vibe to me. The book kept making me think the story was going to go one way and then gave me something totally different, which was nice as it made the book not predictable. If Courtney Moulton writes more in the world, whether more of Ziva’s journeys or someone else’s journey, I’ll definitely be reading it.


Follow the Tour

Monday, January 20th: @thecityofdarkclockwork

Tuesday, January 21st: Hallie Reads

Wednesday, January 22nd: BookCrushin’ and @hokugirlreadsYou are here!

Thursday, January 23rd: Lori’s Reading Corner – excerpt

Friday, January 24th: Booked J

Monday, January 27th: Treestand Book Reviews

Tuesday, January 28th: @amanda.the.bookish

Wednesday, January 29th: Storied Adventures and @storied.adventures

Thursday, January 30th: Shelf-Rated and @shelfrated

Friday, January 31st: The Pages In-Between and @thepagesinbetween

Monday, February 3rd: Bookworm for Kids

Wednesday, February 5th: Write Read Life

Wednesday, February 5th: Girls in Books and @girlsinbooks

Thursday, February 6th: Living My Best Book Life and @livingmybestbooklife

Wednesday, February 19th: Sincerely Karen Jo


Tags: , , , , , , ,


2 responses to “Blog Tour & Review: Wardens of Eternity by Courtney Moulton

  1. Sara Strand

    You’re right, reading about Egyptian mythology definitely isn’t common so I’d read this just to see how it differs. Thank you for being on this tour! Sara @ TLC Book Tours