New Release Review: As She Ascends (Fallen Isles #2) by Jodi Meadows

Crushed on by Christy Jane, on October 12, 2018, in New Releases, Reviews / 0 Comments

New Release Review: As She Ascends by Jodi Meadows

Where were you when I’ve spent the last FOREVER months screaming about the amazingness that is The Fallen Isles series!? Hopefully reading right alongside me (or the Before She Ignites read-a-long!) and now scraping together the last bits of your heart because THAT ENDING. As She Ascends is an adventure full of dragons and a crew you won’t soon forget. Who’s ready for When She Reigns?!


New Release Review: As She Ascends (Fallen Isles #2) by Jodi Meadows

As She Ascends (Fallen Isles, #2)

by Jodi Meadows
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books
on September 11, 2018
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 550

MIRA, THE HOPEBEARERMira Minkoba is on the run with her friends after a fiery escape from the Pit, where she’d been imprisoned for defending the dragons she loves. And she wants answers. Where have all the dragons been taken? Why are powerful noorestones being shipped to the mainland? And did the treaty she’s been defending her whole life truly sell out the Fallen Isles to their enemies?

MIRA, THE DRAGONHEARTEDAs her connection to the dragons—and their power—grows stronger, so does Mira’s fear that she might lose control and hurt someone she loves. But the only way to find the truth is to go home again, to Damina, to face the people who betrayed her and the parents she’s not sure she can trust.

Home, where she must rise above her fears. Or be consumed.

The second page-turning novel in Jodi Meadows’ Fallen Isles trilogy scorches with mysterious magic and riveting romance as one girl kindles a spark into a flame.



So you read Before She Ignites and immediately thought – MORE DRAGONS – right? Right. Well, Jodi Meadows DELIVERED in As She Ascends. There are dragons, dragons, and even more dragons.

And, dang it, now I really want a pocket dragon!

In all seriousness, As She Ascends is a second book in the series that takes an incredible first book and turns it up 10 notches.

What I love about The Fallen Isles trilogy is how clearly defined the titles are in light of the story development. Before She Ignites is a look at Mira as she’s slowly learning more about her world and the people she trusted most. As She Ascends is Mira taking matters into her own hands and saving the freaking dragons.

Mira has an excellent grasp on her perception of the established order, ethics, and morals in her close world. As She Ascends takes the world she thought she knew and turns the stone over on corruption and oppression. If you can’t draw the parallels with Mira’s world and our own, get yourself a book club and have a discussion.

Alongside Mira’s journey, we also get Aaru backstory chapters. SAY IT A LITTLE LOUDER FOR THE PEOPLE IN THE BACK. I think all the Before She Ignites fans were dying to get their hands on how Aaru landed in the cell next to Mira; this gentle silent man can’t possibly have a horrific past right?

I am not sure how Jodi manages to give each character their own narrative but the entire crew gets their own piece of the puzzle here, including the dragons. Just enough so that when she does something horrifying to them, you feel it deep in your soul.

As She Ascends takes us deeper into the world of the islands, including social rules, spirituality, and their history. We also get to see more about the divide between the islands and the mainland.

Mira is back, ready to take on her oppressors, even if they are her own parents. Her motives are clear – save the dragons, keep the people she lives safe, and learn who she is along the way.


Tags: , , , ,