New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

Crushed on by kelly, on June 25, 2019, in New Releases / 2 Comments

New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

Today is a fun release day, hope you add some to your TBRs, bookshelves, or library holds!


New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

Call It What You Want

by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by: Bloomsbury YA
on June 25, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 384
Amazon
Goodreads

When his dad is caught embezzling funds from half the town, Rob goes from popular lacrosse player to social pariah. Even worse, his father’s failed suicide attempt leaves Rob and his mother responsible for his care.

Everyone thinks of Maegan as a typical overachiever, but she has a secret of her own after the pressure got to her last year. And when her sister comes home from college pregnant, keeping it from her parents might be more than she can handle.

When Rob and Maegan are paired together for a calculus project, they’re both reluctant to let anyone through the walls they’ve built. But when Maegan learns of Rob’s plan to fix the damage caused by his father, it could ruin more than their fragile new friendship...

This captivating, heartfelt novel asks the question: Is it okay to do something wrong for the right reasons?




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

Technically, You Started It

by Lana Wood Johnson
Published by: Scholastic Press
on June 25, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon
Goodreads

When a guy named Martin Nathaniel Munroe II texts you, it should be obvious who you're talking to. Except there's two of them (it's a long story), and Haley thinks she's talking to the one she doesn't hate.

A question about a class project rapidly evolves into an all-consuming conversation. Haley finds that Martin is actually willing to listen to her weird facts and unusual obsessions, and Martin feels like Haley is the first person to really see who he is. Haley and Martin might be too awkward to hang out in real life, but over text, they're becoming addicted to each other.

There's just one problem: Haley doesn't know who Martin is. And Martin doesn't know that Haley doesn't know. But they better figure it out fast before their meet-cute becomes an epic meet-disaster . . .




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

Better Than the Best Plan

by Lauren Morrill
on June 25, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Amazon
Goodreads

Lauren Morrill's Better Than the Best Plan is a fresh, funny, romantic YA novel about a teenage girl who finds an unexpected silver lining in her life when plans get turned upside down.

Plans are made to be broken.

It's the last day of junior year, and seventeen-year-old Ritzy--short for Maritza--is pretty sure she has a great plan. Summer job--check. Hang with friends at the beach--check. Keep looking after herself as she's been doing since her mom bailed to follow her bliss--check. Or no check?

After someone reports that Ritzy is living alone, a social worker shows up and puts her into foster care. That's surprise enough. Even more surprising? Ritzy has been in foster care before, as an infant, and the woman who cared for her then takes her in again. But maybe the greatest surprise of all for Ritzy is that living with her foster mother, Kristin, in Kristin's gorgeous house, isn't all that bad. And neither is the cute, friendly boy next door. If Ritzy's mom hadn't gotten her back all those years ago, this is the life she could have had. But is it the life she should have had?

When Ritzy's old life catches up with her new one, she has some decisions to make. Can she plan for the worst, but still hope for the best?




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)

by Kat Cho
Published by: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
on June 25, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 432
Amazon
Goodreads

A fresh and addictive fantasy-romance set in modern-day Seoul.

Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a nine-tailed fox who must devour the energy of men in order to survive. Because so few believe in the old tales anymore, and with so many evil men no one will miss, the modern city of Seoul is the perfect place to hide and hunt.

But after feeding one full moon, Miyoung crosses paths with Jihoon, a human boy, being attacked by a goblin deep in the forest. Against her better judgment, she violates the rules of survival to rescue the boy, losing her fox bead--her gumiho soul--in the process.

Jihoon knows Miyoung is more than just a beautiful girl--he saw her nine tails the night she saved his life. His grandmother used to tell him stories of the gumiho, of their power and the danger they pose to humans. He's drawn to her anyway.

With murderous forces lurking in the background, Miyoung and Jihoon develop a tenuous friendship that blossoms into something more. But when a young shaman tries to reunite Miyoung with her bead, the consequences are disastrous . . . forcing Miyoung to choose between her immortal life and Jihoon's.




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

The Virtue of Sin

by Shannon Schuren
Published by: Philomel Books
on June 25, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 432
Amazon
Goodreads

A compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free -- perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale.

Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert far away from the sins and depravity of the outside world. Within the gates of New Jerusalem, and under the eye of its founder and leader, Daniel, Miriam knows she is safe. Cared for. Even if she's forced, as a girl, to quiet her tongue when she has thoughts she wants to share, Miriam knows that New Jerusalem is a far better life than any alternative. So when God calls for a Matrimony, she's thrilled; she knows that Caleb, the boy she loves, will choose her to be his wife and they can finally start their life together.

But when the ceremony goes wrong and Miriam winds up with someone else, she can no longer keep quiet. For the first time, Miriam begins to question not only the rules that Daniel has set in place, but also what it is she believes in, and where she truly belongs.

Alongside unexpected allies, Miriam fights to learn--and challenge--the truth behind the only way of life she's ever known, even if it means straying from the path of Righteousness.

A compelling debut novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free.

Praise for
The Virtue of Sin

"Shannon Schuren weaves a complex tale of love, faith, and lies in her thought-provoking debut The Virtue of Sin. As important as it is entertaining, this is a must-read for anyone who knows that independent thought trumps fitting in. One of my favorite reads of the year." --Christina Dalcher, bestselling author of VOX




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

DEV1AT3 (Lifelike, #2)

by Jay Kristoff
Published by: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
on June 25, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi
Pages: 448
Amazon
Goodreads

Lemon Fresh has seen better days.

After the climactic battle in Babel, she finds herself separated from Ezekiel and Cricket in the wastelands. Lemon’s abilities to manipulate electricity mark her as a deviate, and deadly corporate operatives are hunting her to use as a weapon in the war between BioMaas Incorporated and Daedelus Technologies. Instead, Lemon finds herself falling in with a group of fellow deviates—a band of teenagers with astonishing abilities, led by an enigmatic figure known as the Major, who may hold the secrets to Lemon’s past.

Meanwhile, Cricket finds himself in possession of the puritanical Brotherhood, a religious cult set for a head-on collision with the Major and his band. Searching for Lemon, Ezekiel finds a strange ally in an old enemy, and uncovers a plot that may see him reunited with his beloved Ana.

And inside Babel, a remade Eve hatches a plan to bring an end to the world.




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)

by Gena Showalter
Published by: Harlequin Teen
on June 25, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Retellings
Pages: 544
Amazon
Goodreads

Classic fairy tales are turned on their heads as strong heroines take charge and save the princes and the world in this magical action and romance-filled trilogy from the New York Times bestselling author of the Everlife novels and the White Rabbit Chronicles, beginning with a teen prophesied to become the Evil Queen from Snow White who refuses to be pigenonholed into her destiny.

Far, far away, in the magical realm of Enchantia, creatures of legend still exist, magic is the norm, and fairytales are real. Except, fairytales aren’t based on myths and legends of the past—they are prophecies of the future. Though Princess Everly Morrow was brought to the mortal realm as an infant, she knows she’s destined to rule a kingdom in Enchantia, thus fulfilling a beloved fairytale. But which one?

At seventeen, when an ability to commune with mirrors manifests, she begins to suspect the truth, and it’s more sinister than anyone ever realized…

She is destined to be Snow White’s greatest enemy, the Evil Queen.

With powers beyond her imagination or control—and determined to prove herself good—Everly returns to the land of her birth, smack dab in the middle of the creepiest forest of all time. There, Everly meets Roth Charmaine, the supposed Prince Charming. Their attraction is undeniable, but their relationship is doomed. As bits and pieces of the prophecy unfold, Everly faces one betrayal after the other, and giving in to her dark side proves more tempting every day. Soon, she will have to choose. Be a hero and walk away, or become the queen—and villain—of her dreams.

The battle between good and evil is on!




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

Queen of the Sea

by Dylan Meconis
Published by: Walker Books US
on June 25, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Graphic Novel, Fantasy
Pages: 400
Amazon
Goodreads

Cult graphic novelist Dylan Meconis offers a rich reimagining of history in this hybrid novel loosely based on the exile of Queen Elizabeth I by her sister, Queen Mary.

When her sister seizes the throne, Queen Eleanor of Albion is banished to a tiny island off the coast of her kingdom, where the nuns of the convent spend their days peacefully praying, sewing, and gardening. But the island is also home to Margaret, a mysterious young orphan girl whose life is upturned when the cold, regal stranger arrives. As Margaret grows closer to Eleanor, she grapples with the revelation of the island’s sinister true purpose as well as the truth of her own past. When Eleanor’s life is threatened, Margaret is faced with a perilous choice between helping Eleanor and protecting herself.











Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


2 responses to “New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases June 25th 2019

    • It’s a labor of love. I’m half thinking of changing it to release month. Maybe so people can preorder upcoming releases…would that interest you?