Books On Our Radar: Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

Crushed on by kelly, on June 12, 2019, in Books On Our Radar, Future releases / 0 Comments

Books On Our Radar: Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera is being republished by Penguin/Dial Books for Young Readers and I couldn’t be happier. I have been looking for this book in every used bookstore I go to, but like many OOP books, it’s been impossible to find. Now that I know I can get a shiny brand new hardcover this fall makes me so happy for all the readers out there, but also for Gabby getting the recognition she deserves for her debut novel. You can be guaranteed to get intersectional feminism, queer girls of color, and a coming of age story you didn’t know you needed to read. So do yourself a favor and add Juliet Takes a Breath to your fall TBR for the September 17th release! Remember that reading queer books outside of Pride Month is totally super cool too!


Books On Our Radar: Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

Juliet Takes a Breath

by Gabby Rivera
Published by: Dial Books
on September 17, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, GLBTQIA+
Pages: 320
Amazon
Goodreads

A gutsy, queer coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour, Rainbow Rowell, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

Juliet Milagros Palante is a self-proclaimed closeted Puerto Rican baby dyke from the Bronx.

Only, she's not so closeted anymore. Not after coming out to her family the night before flying to Portland, Oregon to intern with her favorite feminist writer--what's sure to be a life changing experience. And when Juliet's coming out crashes and burns, she's not sure her mom will ever speak to her again.

But Juliet has a plan--sort of. Her internship with legendary author Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women's bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff is sure to help her figure out this whole "Puerto Rican lesbian" thing. Except Harlowe's white. And not from the Bronx. And she definitely doesn't have all the answers . . .

In a summer bursting with queer brown dance parties, a sexy fling with a motorcycling librarian, and intense explorations of race and identity, Juliet learns what it means to come out--to the world, to her family, to herself.



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,