New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

Crushed on by kelly, on October 27, 2020, in New Releases / 0 Comments

New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

Happy new release Tuesday! There are some wonderful books releasing today as well as some collector’s editions! As the release season winds down check out all the October releases on our Bookshop page!


New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

Kingdom of the Wicked (Kingdom of the Wicked, #1)

by Kerri Maniscalco
Published by: Jimmy Patterson
on October 27, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy
Pages: 448
Bookshop
Goodreads

Two sisters.

One brutal murder.

A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself…

And an intoxicating romance.

Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon finds the body of her beloved twin…desecrated beyond belief. Devastated, Emilia sets out to find her sister’s killer and to seek vengeance at any cost-even if it means using dark magic that’s been long forbidden.

Then Emilia meets Wrath, one of the Wicked-princes of Hell she has been warned against in tales since she was a child. Wrath claims to be on Emilia’s side, tasked by his master with solving the series of women’s murders on the island. But when it comes to the Wicked, nothing is as it seems…




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)

by Sara B. Larson
Published by: Tor Teen
on October 27, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 384
Bookshop
Goodreads

The doorway between the magical Visempirum and the human world has been reopened. Paladin are once more living in the citadel where Zuhra and Inara grew up completely isolated by the magical hedge that trapped them there. Amidst the brewing conflict between the Paladin and humans looms the threat of Barloc, who has stolen Inara’s immense power and continues to elude the Paladin who are desperately searching for him.

In this sequel to Sisters of Shadow and Light, Inara and Zuhra must navigate the treacherous paths of self-discovery, their love for each other, and for the boys who have captured their hearts. Together, they search for the strength within themselves to bridge the divide between the two worlds they inhabit, even as war threatens to destroy everything—and everyone—they love.




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

Magic Dark and Strange

by Kelly Powell
Published by: Margaret K. McElderry Books
on October 27, 2020
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 208
Bookshop
Goodreads

The Bone Witch meets Sherlock Holmes in this thrilling historical fantasy about a girl with the ability to raise the dead who must delve into her city’s dangerous magical underworld to stop a series of murders.

Catherine Daly has an unusual talent. By day she works for a printer. But by night, she awakens the dead for a few precious moments with loved ones seeking a final goodbye. But this magic comes with a price: for every hour that a ghost is brought back, Catherine loses an hour from her own life.

When Catherine is given the unusual task of collecting a timepiece from an old grave, she is sure that the mysterious item must contain some kind of enchantment. So she enlists Guy Nolan, the watchmaker’s son, to help her dig it up. But instead of a timepiece, they find a surprise: the body of a teenage boy. And as they watch, he comes back to life—not as the pale imitation that Catherine can conjure, but as a living, breathing boy. A boy with no memory of his past.

This magic is more powerful than any Catherine has ever encountered, and revealing it brings dangerous enemies. Catherine and Guy must race to unravel the connection between the missing timepiece and the undead boy. For this mysterious magic could mean the difference between life and death—for all of them.




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

In the City of the Nightmare King

by V.S. Santoni
Published by: Wattpad Books
on October 27, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, GLBTQIA+
Pages: 352
Bookshop
Goodreads

None of them expected the nightmare to continue...
In the sequel to I’m a Gay Wizard, V.S. Santoni imagines a world where Johnny, Hunter, Alison, and Blake are forced once again to prove that love and magic can save the day.

When Johnny wakes up, something isn’t right. It’s a blissful summer day, and Johnny’s father is taking him to begin a brand new life in Misthaven, and all his best friends, Alison, Hunter, and Blake, join him in the idyllic town.

Once reunited, Johnny and his friends discover that this Misthaven is actually Dreamhaven―the Marduk Institute’s mystical prison for wizards―and they’re trapped. But that’s the least of their problems when Hunter falls ill with a magical sickness, and his soul is thrown into the Night City, an underworld ruled by the Nightmare King.

Johnny will not leave Hunter. Vowing to stay together, he, Alison, and Blake enter the Night City, a domain of the dead where both their powers and trust in each other will be tested. But in a realm where the Nightmare King rules second only to Death itself, Johnny’s love for Hunter must continue to be his most powerful magic.




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

The Fangirl's Guide to the Universe

by Sam Maggs
Published by: Quirk Books
on October 27, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Non-Fiction
Pages: 208
Bookshop
Goodreads

From notable geek girl Sam Maggs, The Fangirl's Guide to the Universe is the ultimate handbook for teens living the nerdy life.

Fandom, pop culture, feminism, cosplay, cons, books, memes, podcasts, vlogs, OTPs and RPGs and MMOs and more—there’s never been a better time to be a fangirl, or a better guide to navigate the wide universe of fandoms. This handbook is packed with tips, playthroughs, and cheat codes, including:
· How to make nerdy friends· How to rock cosplay· How to write fanfic with feels· How to defeat internet trolls· How to attend your first con

And more! Featuring wisdom from Sam and insightful interviews with fangirl faves like Danielle Paige, Rainbow Rowell, and Preeti Chhibber, The Fangirl’s Guide to the Universe highlights the joys of fandom community and offers a fun, feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom. This refreshed edition updates The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy including new interviews.




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

The Fangirl's Journal for Leveling Up

by Sam Maggs
Published by: Quirk Books
on October 27, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Non-Fiction
Pages: 160
Bookshop
Goodreads

A companion to The Fangirl's Guide to the Universe, this guided journal by Sam Maggs includes prompts, interviews, and illustrations to help you get in touch with your dreams, plans, and faves.

Fandom is an excellent way to discover who you really are. Your OTPs, NOTPS, and even OT3s actually say a lot about you, if you're willing to listen hard enough. With this journal, you can examine your current fandoms, explore new ones, and even push the boundaries of your own creativity. Start your very own transformative works with prompts for fanfic and fanart, fill checklists for what to watch or read next, learn definitions of fandom terms, and read wisdom from your favorite geeky gals.

The Fangirl's Journal encourages you to be your very best, strongest, loudest, and nerdiest self--and helps you figure out exactly who that might be along the way.




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

Anna and the French Kiss Collector's Edition

by Stephanie Perkins
Published by: Dutton Books for Young Readers
on October 27, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Bookshop
Goodreads

Celebrate the 10th anniversary of this beloved romance classic with a one-of-a-kind, beautifully luxe edition that includes all-new bonus content.
“Stephanie Perkins’s characters fall in love the way we all want to, in real time and for good.” -Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Anna can’t wait for her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. So she’s less than thrilled when her father unexpectedly ships her off to boarding school in Paris—until she meets Etienne St. Clair, the perfect boy. The only problem? He’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her crush back home. Will a year of romantic near-misses end in the French kiss Anna awaits?




New Release Tuesday: YA New Releases October 27th 2020

Caraval Collector's Edition

by Stephanie Garber
Published by: Flatiron Books
on October 27, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 448
Bookshop
Goodreads

The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to CaravalStephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It’s the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.
Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.


New York Times
bestseller#1 IndieNext Pick
Publishers Weekly
Flying StartEntertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the YearAmazon Best Book of the YearBarnes & Noble Best Book of the YearBuzzFeed Best Book of the YearThe Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-.”Entertainment Weekly“Impressive, original, wondrous.USA Today“Spellbinding.” US Weekly“Magnificent.” Publishers Weekly, starred review“I lost myself in this world.” —Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes“Beautifully written.” —Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn“Shimmers with magic.” —Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse“Darkly enchanting.” —Kiersten White, author of And I Darken“Decadent.” —Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen“Like stepping into a living dream.” —Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon“Destined to capture imaginations.”Kirkus ReviewsIdeal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.School Library Journal












Giveaway

Win this or any new release featured in October. Open international so long as Book Depository ships to you!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tags: , ,